Agenda Item No.

TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY

Office of the President April 21, 2017

Members, Board of Regents The Texas A&M University System

Subject: Adoption of a Resolution Honoring the Women's Equestrian Team

I respectfully request the Board of Regents approval of the following resolution honoring the Texas A&M University Women's Equestrian Team.

"WHEREAS, the Texas A&M University Women's Equestrian Team distinguished themselves by winning the 2017 NCEA Championship; and

WHEREAS, the title for the Texas A&M University Women's Equestrian Team served as the 12th national championship and fourth overall national title in program history; and

WHEREAS, Texas A&M University had two individuals earn Most Outstanding Player honors at the NCEA Championship in individual events with Rebekah Chenelle (Equitation on the Flat) and Avery Ellis (Horsemanship); and

WHEREAS, 11 members of the Texas A&M University Women's Equestrian Team were named to the NCEA All-Championship Team including Rebekah Chenelle, Alex Desiderio and Anna Rea in Equitation on the Flat; Avery Ellis, Kaci Fisher and Sarah Orsak in Horsemanship, Madison Bohman and Haley Franc in Reining; and Rebekah Chenelle, Rachael Hake and Haley Webster in Equitation over Fences; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Tana McKay is to be highly commended for providing outstanding leadership in guiding the team to a championship and national recognition and collecting her 12th national title and fourth overall national championship while at Texas A&M University; and

WHEREAS, three Texas A&M University athletes were honored with NCEA All-America first-team honors, as well as one athlete earning NCEA All-America second-team honors, and two earning NCEA All-America honorable mention honors; and

WHEREAS, the team members competing at the NCEA Championships included Madison Bohman, Rebekah Chenelle, Bailey Cook, Alex Desiderio, Avery Ellis, Kaci Fisher, Haley Franc, Sarah Kate Grider, Rachael Hake, Jaci Marley, Sarah McEntire, Sarah Orsak, Anna Rea, Maddie Swem and Haley Webster; and

WHEREAS, Coach McKay received valuable support from Assistant Coaches Caroline Postoak and Jessie Weisinger, as well as Director of Athletics Scott Woodward; and

WHEREAS, the Texas A&M University Equestrian support staff, composed of Director of Operations Kimmy Saul and volunteer assistant coach Logan Pluhar, along with Kevin Hurley, David Weir, Allen Kinley, Kristi Mejias, Evan Roberts, Heather Overholt, Fallon Appleton, and Zoe Zamora, also provided valuable support; now, therefore, be it

Agenda Item No. April 21, 2017

RESOLVED, that we, the members of the Board of Regents of The Texas A&M University System, desire to express hearty congratulations to Head Coach Tana McKay and to everyone associated with the Texas A&M University Women's Equestrian Team for their contributions to Texas A&M University; and, be it, further

RESOLVED, that this resolution be included in the minutes, and copies thereof signed by the Chairman of the Board of Regents of The Texas A&M University System, and be presented to Coach McKay, to the assistant coaches and support staff, and to each member of the Texas A&M University Women's Equestrian Team, and to the Archives of Texas A&M University, as a permanent mark of this Board's appreciation and gratitude to all these individuals for a job well done.

ADOPTED, this 27 th day of April 2017."	
	Respectfully submitted,
	Michael K. Young President
Approval Recommended:	Approved for Legal Sufficiency:
John Sharp Chancellor	Ray Bonilla General Counsel
Billy Hamilton Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer	